Foundation Board


Peter K. Moy, DMD, Chairman

board-peter-mccoyPeter K. Moy, DMD is a clinical professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery in the Division of Diagnostic & Surgical Sciences at the UCLA School of Dentistry. He is the first person to hold the Nobel Biocare Endowed Chair in Surgical Implant Dentistry. He also serves as the director of the UCLA Dental Implant Center and the Straumann Surgical Dental Clinic.  Dr. Moy treats patients in the UCLA Straumann Surgical Dental Clinic as well as in his private practice located in Brentwood, California.
Dr. Moy is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine.  His undergraduate degree is from the University of Pittsburgh.  He completed a general practice residency at Queen’s Medical Center in Honolulu, Hawaii and his oral & maxillofacial surgery training at the University of California Los Angeles Medical Center.
Dr. Moy is an associate editor of the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants and a reviewing editor of the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Clinical Implant Dentistry and Related Research. He is a member of the Supreme Chapter of Delta Sigma Delta, American Dental Association, Western Dental Society, American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, Western Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and is a Fellow of the Academy of Osseointegration, the International Academy for Oral-Facial Rehabilitation and the Pierre Fauchard Honorary Dental Society.

Jay P. Malmquist DMD

board-jay-malmquistJay P. Malmquist D.M.D. is an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon with advanced training and experience with dental implants, bone regeneration, and bone grafting. His private practice is in Portland, Oregon.  He has authored numerous articles and several chapters in textbooks on implants, bone grafting and bone regeneration.  Dr. Malmquist also lectures nationally and internationally on implant surgery and bone grafting. He pursued extensive research on bone physiology and regeneration at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia and is now actively engaged in research protocols in the evolution of bone proteins and bone grafting techniques. Dr. Malmquist traveled to Sweden early in his career and trained with the original founder of the concepts of osseointegration and implant reconstruction.

Dr. Malmquist is a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. He served as an examiner for the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery for seven years. Dr. Malmquist is a Fellow of the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentists.  He is on the staff at several Portland-area hospitals providing trauma support for maxillofacial injuries.

He has shared his knowledge with others as a professor at Oregon Health Science University, contributing to the education of students and residents in the department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

Dr. Malmquist has distinguished himself as the first Treasurer and first President of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons from the Pacific Northwest. The American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons represent more than 8,000 surgeons throughout the United States. He has also been honored with visiting professorships at the University of California, University of Tennessee, University of Nebraska, University of Alabama, University of Indiana and the University of Minnesota. He is currently a member of the Board of the Academy of Osseointegration.

Greg Bosch, CEO, Geistlich Pharma North America, Representative of the Donor (ex officio)

board-greg-boschGreg Bosch is CEO of Geistlich Pharma NA, a leader in regenerative medicine in dental as well as Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. Greg was previously President and CEO of PuriCore and held various leadership positions at Baxter International.  Greg received his BA in Public Policy from Duke University and his MBA from DePaul University.  In 2006, Greg received the Life Sciences CEO of the Year award at the Eastern Technology Council’s Enterprise Awards.

Alan S. Herford, DDS, MD

board-alan-herfordAlan S. Herford, DDS, MD, is the Chairman of the department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery residency program at Loma Linda University School of Dentistry. Dr. Herford is a graduate of Loma Linda University School of Dentistry. His medical degree is from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas. Dr. Herford completed his training in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Parkland Memorial Hospital at the University of Texas Medical Center in Dallas.  In 2008 Dr Herford was named the Philip Boyne & Peter Geistlich Endowed Professor in OMS.

Dr. Herford is actively involved in research. He has multiple publications and has presented his original research at both national and international meetings. He was recently awarded the Laskin Award which is given to the authors of the most outstanding article published in the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery for that year. Dr Herford is the primary author on numerous peer-reviewed scientific publications on topics ranging from reconstructing skin cancer defects to the use of growth factors to rebuild jaw defects. He has recently authored book chapters on treatment of mandibular fractures, facial flaps, and treatment of soft tissue injuries.  His clinical interests are reconstructive surgery and maxillofacial trauma.  He is excited about being one of the founding members of Osteo Science Foundation.

Mark E. Wong, DDS

board mark wongDr. Mark Wong is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston, where he also serves as the Director of Residency Training. Dr. Wong is the Past-President of the American Academy of Craniomaxillofacial Surgeons and the Past-President of the International Board for the Certification of Specialists in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. His clinical and research interests are focused on reconstructive surgery, tissue engineering of bone and the biomechanical characterization and regeneration of the temporomandibular joint. His research is funded by the NIH and the Department of Defense. Dr. Wong has served on a number of educational and research committees for AAOMS. .

The Osteo Science Foundation